Shinjuku ward

Shinjuku-ku (Shinjuku-ku) is one of Tokyo's special wards and is divided into 23 wards. It is one of 23 special districts existing in Tokyo and is located somewhat west of the center of 23 wards. Tokyo Metropolitan Government is in Shinjuku Ward since 1991 (Heisei 3). The area of ​​Shinjuku Ward is 18.22 km2, the total population is about 340,000 people. Adjacent municipalities are Chiyoda Ward, Minato Ward, Bunkyo Ward, Shibuya Ward, Nakano Ward, Toshima Ward.

Shinjuku station area around Shinjuku station which flourished as a passageway of the Koshu Highway is formed, and one of the busiest downtown streets in Japan is formed, and Shinjuku Station is a terminal of each railway line, so the population change of day and night is particularly remarkable. There are also many universities and schools such as Waseda University and Tokyo University of Science. College hospitals such as Keio University Hospital, Tokyo Medical University Hospital, Tokyo Women's Medical University Hospital, and National Hospital Research Center Center Toyama Hospital are also concentrated.
Shinjuku-ku is the area with the most foreign registrants in Tokyo. Among the foreigners, Chinese and Koreans live in particular. Especially as Okubo, Okubo Station, Shin Okubo Station around the office as a Korea town, famous, a foreign community is formed. Ten percent of the population of Shinjuku Ward is considered as a foreigner. After the transfer of the Tokyo Metropolitan Government With the development of Shinjuku Ward, government agencies such as the Tokyo Metropolitan Government and the Defense Agency (the current Ministry of Defense) are also moving.